CPAC Level 4:
Pipeline Welding Inspector –
Based on National Requirements for Inspection of the Joining of Steel Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems in Canada

This content is suitable for CPAC Pipeline Welding Inspector Certification examinations conducted July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021

To qualify for the issuance of this certification applicants are required to provide evidence of a valid API 1169 and CWB 178.2 level 2 credential.

In addition to the above prerequisites, applicants for this credential are required to pass a supervised examination. The examination is optional for those individuals who carry a CPAC Level 3 Pipeline Welder Certificate to the current edition of the CSA Z662. The intent of the examination is to verify the applicant’s knowledge and understanding of, and/or ability to use relevant reference documents and recognized management techniques. After registration, processing applicants will receive a documentation request identifying the minimum content and information required to be submitted in the form of a resume. A tentative examination date will be confirmed in accordance with the applicant’s registration request.

A Pipeline Welding Inspector should have general knowledge of the following to allow the effective application of their skills in executing the roles and responsibilities of the position.

The qualification examination will include questions to ascertain knowledge and comprehension of the following:

1. Pipeline Safety and Loss Management System (10% exam content)

  • Quality Control Elements
  • Competency Requirements
  • Communication Systems
  • Document Control and Records Management
  • Management of Change

2. Pipeline Construction Safety (10% exam content)

  • Basic Pipeline and ROW Construction Safety
  • Hazardous Materials and Atmospheres

3. Pipeline Construction Inspection (10% exam content)

  • Operational Controls for Construction
  • Stringing
  • Pipe Bending
  • Welding Basics
  • Tie-in’s
  • Pressure Testing
  • Clean-Up and Restoration

4. Environmental Protection Requirements (10% exam content)

  • Environmental Hazard Identification
  • Federal Requirements
  • Provincial and Municipal Requirements

5. Pipeline Welding (60% exam content)

  • WPS Development and Qualification
  • Welder Qualification
  • Production Welding
  • NDI Requirements
  • Visual Inspection Requirements
  • Essential Changes
  • Documentation of non-conformances

Knowledge Expectations

Technical Reference Publications

The construction practices used to build, alter or repair oil and gas pipelines are varied and complex. Certified Pipeline Welding Inspectors must possess a clear and demonstrable understanding of all aspects of pipeline construction as well as highly specialized knowledge and experience in welding processes. The scope of this understanding must include all elements applicable to pipeline joining from both regulatory and technical realms. A list of reference documents and inspection responsibilities is provided below.

Applicants will be provided copies of the applicable sections of all relevant reference documents for use during the exam. No external documents are permitted to be used for this examination. Electronic devices are not permitted to be used during the exam. A calculator will be provided for use during the examination.

The Pipeline Welding Inspector examination consist of 60 weighted multiple-choice questions totaling 100 points. Applicants are permitted 2.5 hours to complete the examination.

Prerequisites and Equivalencies:

This Level 4 credential requires applicants to hold a valid CWB 178.2 Level 2, an API 1169 for the applied jurisdiction and demonstrate 2 years of Pipeline Inspection experience.

A CPAC Level 3 Pipeline Welder qualification is considered equivalent to the examination required for this credential.


  • US issued API 1169 certificates are not an acceptable prerequisite for Canadian Level 4 designations as they are deemed Level 2 credential under the Canadian system.
  • Red Seal API 1169 certificates are deemed an acceptable prerequisite for Canadian Level 4 designations.